Facebook  |  Twitter  |  LinkedIn  |  Print

Organizational Structure

The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) is a federation of over 50 diverse product sections that are grouped into eight divisions. NEMA’s nearly 350 member companies manufacture products ranging from x-ray machines and CT scanners to motors and generators, lamps, luminaires, cable tray, building wire, enclosures, traffic controls, nurse call systems, batteries, residential controls, and more.

Members are affiliated with one or more sections, and it is within the sections that:

  • Technical standards are developed
  • Legislative and regulatory issues decided
  • Economic and market data are collected
  • Product-based educational and marketing campaigns are created

Each section contracts with NEMA's core departments, Business Information Services, Technical Services, Medical, Government Relations, and Industry Operations, to provide the services the section decides are needed to meet its goals and objectives. Thirty senior corporate executives are elected by the general membership to 3-year terms on NEMA’s Board of Governors.

The Board is organized into policy committees to guide the organization’s operations in the areas of:

  • Commerce and economics
    • Business & information systems 
    • e-Commerce
  • Standards and conformity assessment 
    • Domestic
    • International
  • Government relations
    • Energy
    • Environment
    • Health & Safety  
    • Trade & Commerce 
  • Section affairs


Copyright © NEMA. All rights reserved. (703) 841-3200, 1300 North 17th Street, Suite 900, Arlington, Virginia 22209