Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Google Plus  |  LinkedIn  |  Print

FERC Chairman Wellinghoff Receives Falk Award at NEMA’s 86th Annual Meeting

11/16/2012 11:00AMSign-up to receive press releases.

The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) awarded The Honorable Jon Wellinghoff with its prestigious Bernard H. Falk award at its 86th annual meeting, Illuminations Weekend.

Wellinghoff was named Chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) by President Obama in 2009. Federal Energy Regulatory Commissioner since 2006, he has advanced the cause of innovation in the electrical sector and promoted Smart Grid through bold leadership and commitment to open, competitive markets.

His achievements include opening wholesale electric markets to renewable resources and providing a platform for participation of demand response, energy storage, and energy efficiency. All of these technologies are key components of the Smart Grid.

“Unleashing information on energy and prices allows consumers to use their energy smartly," he said. “The first step is to give consumers access to the real costs of delivered energy—so that they're not in the dark."

FERC was given a critical role by the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007with regard to Smart Grid standards. FERC’s responsibility is to adopt standards critical to ensure Smart Grid functionality and interoperability. FERC also established a rate policy for assurance of recovery of future Smart Grid costs.

While innovation is central to Chairman Wellinghoff’s vision, so is effective planning for the future of the nation’s electric grid.

FERC Order 1000, a hallmark of the Chairman’s tenure, encourages more comprehensive and more efficient transmission planning, as well as greater coordination within and among regions to ensure that FERC’s mission—that market rates, terms, and conditions are just, reasonable, and not unduly discriminatory or preferential—is carried out.

Under Chairman Wellinghoff, FERC is working more closely than ever with the Department of Energy on the triennial National Electric Transmission Congestion Studies. Also, FERC will provide greater input on the environmental analyses of any proposed National Interest Electric Transmission Corridors that may result from the studies.

Since 1992, the Bernard H. Falk award has been presented annually to an individual who has made a difference in the industries that NEMA serves. Someone recognized for outstanding achievements in technology, management, marketing, international trade, education, public affairs, or any field important to the electroindustry.

NEMA is the association of electrical equipment and medical imaging manufacturers, founded in 1926 and headquartered in Arlington, Virginia. Its member companies manufacture a diverse set of products including power transmission and distribution equipment, lighting systems, factory automation and control systems, and medical diagnostic imaging systems. Worldwide annual sales of NEMA-scope products exceed $120 billion.

Press/Public Relations Contacts:
NEMA Communications Department
Email: Contact Form


Copyright © NEMA. All rights reserved. (703) 841-3200, 1300 North 17th Street, Suite 900, Arlington, Virginia 22209