Facebook  |  Twitter  |  LinkedIn  |  Print

26 November Arizona


State of Arizona

Arizona is a home rule state regarding construction code adoption, i.e., there is no statewide adoption, and each city and county adopts their own codes. At its October 9, 2018 public hearing, the City of Tucson adopted the 2018 International (I) Codes as well as the 2017 National Electrical Code. Tucson was previously on the 2012 I-codes and the 2011 NEC, so they are skipping the 2015 I-codes and 2014 NEC and are adopting the most current editions. The new codes will be effective in Tucson on January 1, 2019. 

Tucson (pop. 520,000) joins the City of Phoenix (pop. 1,626,000) in adopting these new codes. Phoenix likewise moved from the 2012 I-codes and 2011 NEC to the 2018 I-codes and 2017 NEC with an effective date of September 1, 2018. Tucson and Phoenix are the two largest cities in Arizona, and most other major jurisdictions in Arizona are expected to adopt the new codes as well.

More information can be found at the following websites:

Contact: Mike Stone, mike.stone@nema.org


Copyright © NEMA. All rights reserved. (703) 841-3200, 1300 North 17th Street, Suite 900, Arlington, Virginia 22209