Facebook  |  Twitter  |  LinkedIn  |  Print

12 July Tennessee

State of Tennessee

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, Division of Fire Prevention has set an effective date of August 4, 2016 for the updated Tennessee State Building Code.  The codes and standards adopted by the Division of Fire Prevention under T.C.A. 0780-02-02 are:

  • 2012 International Building Code (IBC)
    • Except for Chapter 11 and Chapter 34, Section 3411
  • 2012 International Fire Code (IFC)
  • 2012 International Energy Conservation Code (IECC)*
  • 2012 International Plumbing Code (IPC)                                            
  • 2012 International Mechanical Code (IMC)                                      
  • 2012 International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC)
  • 2012 International Property Maintenance Code (IPMC)                                                 
  • 2012 International Existing Building Code (IEBC)
  • 2012 NFPA 101 – Life Safety Code
    • For state buildings, educational occupancies, and any other occupancy requiring an inspection by the state fire marshal for initial licensure

*The provisions of the International Energy Conservation Code, 2006 edition, shall apply to the following occupancy classifications as defined by the International Building Code (IBC), 2012 edition:

  1. Moderate-hazard factory industrial, Group F-1
  2. Low-hazard factory industrial, Group F-2
  3. Moderate-hazard storage, Group S-1
  4. Low-hazard storage, Group S-2

The Notice of Rulemaking can be downloaded HERE.

Contact: Bryan Holland, Bryan.Holland@nema.org


Copyright © NEMA. All rights reserved. (703) 841-3200, 1300 North 17th Street, Suite 900, Arlington, Virginia 22209