Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Google Plus  |  LinkedIn  |  Print

NEMA Hails DOE Award of First L Prize for LED Lighting Technology and Manufacturing

08/4/2011 8:00AMSign-up to receive press releases.

(ROSSLYN, Va.,)—Today U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu announced the first award of the L Prize for development and manufacturing of energy efficient light-emitting diode (LED) lighting to Philips Lighting Electronics North America. In addition to a $10 million award, the winning entry is expected to benefit from promotions by many utility companies and the federal government as a replacement for the 60-watt incandescent bulb.

“I applaud Senators Jeff Bingaman and Lisa Murkowski for their leadership in driving development of energy efficient lighting technology through their creation of this competition,” said President and CEO Evan R. Gaddis of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA). “NEMA welcomes today’s announcement and looks forward to further accelerated development and deployment of efficient lighting in the U.S. driven by the L Prize.”

Sen. Bingaman (D-NM) serves as Chairman and Sen. Murkowski (R-AK) serves as Ranking Member of the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources. NEMA worked with both senators on the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA 2007) and specifically on the portion of the bill (Section 655) that granted authority to the Department of Energy (DOE) to create the prize and administer the competition. The Next Generation Lighting Industry Alliance, DOE’s industry partner for its solid-state lighting research and development program, has also supported the L Prize competition.

To earn recognition in the L Prize competition for the 60-watt replacement bulb, an entry is required to meet rigorous technical requirements, including for efficiency (lumens per watt), light output (lumens), wattage, light quality, and control (ability to be dimmed). In addition, a substantial portion of the manufacturing process for each bulb must take place in the U.S. Finally, the manufacturer must provide evidence that it is fully prepared to produce at least 250,000 units of the winning entry in the first year and increase annual output in later years.

Thirty-one L Prize partners, primarily electric utilities and energy efficiency programs from around the U.S., are signed on to support L Prize winners with promotions, incentives, and other market development activities. In addition, under the terms of EISA 2007, the Secretary of Energy and the head of the General Services Administration are to develop federal government purchasing guidelines for 60-watt replacement lamps.

The L Prize is comprised of three competitions: a 60-watt incandescent replacement bulb, for which Philips was awarded first prize today, a PAR 38 halogen replacement lamp, and a 21st Century Lamp. More information about the L Prize is available at www.lightingprize.org.

NEMA is the association of electrical and medical imaging equipment manufacturers. Founded in 1926 and headquartered near Washington, D.C., its approximately 450 member companies manufacture products used in the generation, transmission and distribution, control, and end use of electricity. These products are used in utility, industrial, commercial, institutional, and residential applications. The association’s Medical Imaging & Technology Alliance (MITA) Division represents manufacturers of cutting-edge medical diagnostic imaging equipment including MRI, CT, x-ray, and ultrasound products. Worldwide sales of NEMA-scope products exceed $120 billion. In addition to its headquarters in Rosslyn, Virginia, NEMA also has offices in Beijing and Mexico City.


Copyright © NEMA. All rights reserved. (703) 841-3200, 1300 North 17th Street, Suite 900, Arlington, Virginia 22209